2017 Fall Regular Meeting Agenda

TAMU-CC Academic Advising Committee Agenda

Fall 2017, Friday 11/17/2017, Time 11:00 am, Conrad Blucher Institute Conference Room

If you are unable to attend in person, you may call in to the meeting at (361) ???-???? (TBD).


  • William Bernsen, Chair
  • Brandi Lowe, Vice Chair
  • Sheila Steffenson
  • Noela Garza
  • Ken Gold
  • Keith McNease
  • Mike Beavers
  • Dan Stone
  • Stephen Blaskey
  • Sonia Gover
  • James Carr
  • Miguel Escobar
  • Chip Urban
  • Donny Sosa
  • Brent Jones

Early Meeting (±11:00)

  1. Discussion of 2016 Proposed Adjustments to Bylaws (failure to approve? new additions)
  2. Other

Lunch (provided ±12:00)

Call to Order (±12:30) – Welcome and introductions

  1. Unfinished Business
    1. potential sources of new members
      1. no suggestions received so far
      2. oil & gas industry, land man, GLO, architect, engineer, construction
  2. GISSO Report as available (membership status, meeting attendance, activities, student concerns/requests/feedback, etc.)
    1. results of 2016 NSPS competition
  3. GISSO Presentation (students have asked to make a brief presentation, 1:00 pm)
  4. Approval of the 2016 Fall Regular Meeting Minutes
  5. Member reappointments (William Bernsen, Keith McNease, Stephen Blaskey, Miguel Escobar, Chip Urban)
  6. 2016 Proposed Adjustments to Bylaws
  7. From Dan Stone
    1. Discuss University’s use of its designation as an ESRI Development Center (EDC)
    2. Discuss University contributing to the ArcGIS Community Basemap / Living Atlas
    3. Discuss Quarterly Presentations from Esri to the GISSO
  8. University Updates
    1. Results from the last GIS Day
    2. Name change status (Geospatial Systems Engineering)
    3. Student Enrollment Numbers
    4. Faculty issues, new hires
    5. Recruiting efforts
    6. Membership with the United Nations Global Geospatial Information Management-Academic Network
  9. Other Business
  10. Next meeting time and content
    1. Resetting, regrouping, momentum and direction of the committee
    2. Mastermind group brainstorming?
    3. Overview of curriculum for new and old members?
  11. Dedication to Service!
  12. Final thoughts and comments
  13. Adjournment

Make other requests in comment section below, or email the chair

Member & Officer Term Expiration

  • Spring 2018 – Sheila Steffenson, Mike Beavers, Brandi Lowe, Dan Stone, Sonia Gover
  • Spring 2019 – Noela Garza, Ken Gold, James Carr, Donny Sosa
  • Spring 2020 – William Bernsen, Keith McNease, Stephen Blaskey, Miguel Escobar, Chip Urban
  • Chair’s term expires Spring of 2018
  • Vice-Chair’s term expires Spring of 2018

Leave a Reply